Digitalization in Swiss schools

DigiPrim

Lehrerin erklärt einer Gruppe von Kindern eine Aufgabe auf einem Tablet-Computer

Aim of the project

In Switzerland, there is hardly any current, empirically reliable data on the state of digitalization in primary schools. The DigiPrim project ("Digitalization in Swiss Schools and its Impact on Educational Trajectories") at the University of Bern is attempting to close this gap.

Digitalization and education

The surveys of school principals, parents and pupils are intended to provide a differentiated picture of the current state of digitalization in primary schools. The data collected will be used to explore the opportunities and risks of learning in the digital classroom and to identify conditions for the successful integration of information and communication technologies (ICT) at the school level.

Complementary analyses of the data from the longitudinal study TREE (Transitions from Education to Employment) will provide information on the effects of ICT use, practice and skills at school and in the private environment on the transition phase to post-compulsory education.

Translation into practice

A central goal of DigiPrim is the translation of project results into practice. In addition to designing presentations and workshops, we therefore always publish the latest results, prepared for different target groups.

The survey at primary school level took place from May to July 2022 as part of the pilot survey of the ÜGK (Verification of the Attainment of Basic Competences). The questionnaire for the survey of school principals was designed in cooperation with the projects Reform@work of the PH Bern and EPFL-LEARN.

More information ... about the survey | about the data | about the results

In the "TREE" part of the project, the effects of digitalization on the educational transition after compulsory education (9th grade) after secondary level 1 will be examined. For this purpose, data from the longitudinal study "TREE" will be used, which map the transition to post-compulsory education in detail.

The findings will contribute to a better understanding of the impact of the digital transformation on career paths, especially in the technical and scientific fields.

The focus of the analyses lies on the STEM skills shortage in Switzerland and the gender differences that still exist in vocational training in the ICT sector.

The translation of the project output into practice is achieved by making the data available to the research community on the one hand, and by communicating the results to interested parties in educational policy, administration and practice outside of academia on the other hand.

In addition, the results of the project allow for the development and implementation of evidence-based interventions and instruments with regard to school digitalization strategies.

Presentations and workshops in the schools will focus on the conditions for success in dealing with digitalization at the school level - and show how digitalization and the performance and competences of the students are connected.

Funding

University of Bern as part of the Canton Bern's BeLEARN initiative.

Duration

2022 - 2024

Reporting

Herzing, Jessica M. E. & Leo Röhlke. (2024). DigiPrim – Status quo der Digitalisierung auf der Primarstufe. Version 1-0. Bern: University of Bern, Interfaculty Centre for Educational Research. DOI: 10.48350/193898.

Digitalisierung in Schweizer Schulen

DigiPrim

Lehrerin erklärt einer Gruppe von Kindern eine Aufgabe auf einem Tablet-Computer

Ziel des Projekts

In der Schweiz existieren kaum aktuelle, empirisch belastbare Daten zum Stand der Digitalisierung an den Primarschulen. Diese Lücke versucht das Projekt DigiPrim («Digitalisierung in Schweizer Schulen und deren Auswirkungen auf Bildungsverläufe») der Universität Bern zu schliessen.

Digitalisierung und Bildung

Die Erhebungen bei Schulleitungen, Eltern sowie Schüler*innen sollen ein differenziertes Bild des aktuellen Stands der Digitalisierung an Primarschulen vermitteln. Mit den erhobenen Daten sollen Chancen und Risiken des Lernens im digitalen Klassenzimmer ausgelotet sowie Gelingensbedingungen für eine erfolgreiche Integration von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (ICT) auf Schulebene identifiziert werden.

Ergänzende Analysen der Daten der Längsschnittstudie TREE (Transitionen von der Erstausbildung ins Erwerbsleben) sollen zudem Aufschluss darüber geben, welche Auswirkungen ICT-Nutzung, -Praxis und -Kompetenzen in der Schule und im privaten Umfeld auf die Übergangsphase in nachobligatorische Ausbildungsverläufe haben.

Praxisrelevanz

Ein zentrales Ziel von DigiPrim ist die Übersetzung (Translation) der Projektergebnisse in die Praxis. Neben der Gestaltung von Präsentationen und Workshops veröffentlichen wir deshalb stets die aktuellsten Ergebnisse, aufbereitet für unterschiedliche Zielgruppen.

Die Erhebung im Primarschulbereich fand von Mai bis Juli 2022 im Rahmen der Piloterhebung der ÜGK (Überprüfung des Erreichens der Grundkompetenzen) statt. Der Fragebogen für die Befragung der Schulleiter*innen wurde in Kooperation mit den Projekten Reform@work der PH Bern und EPFL-LEARN entworfen.

Mehr Informationen ... zur Erhebung | zu den Daten | zu den Ergebnissen

Im Projektteil «TREE» werden die Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung auf die Übergangsphase in Ausbildung und Beruf nach der Sekundarstufe 1 untersucht. Hierfür sollen Daten der Längsschnittstudie «TREE» verwendet werden, die den Übergang in die nachobligatorische Ausbildung detailliert abbilden.

Die Erkenntnisse sollen zu einem besseren Verständnis der Auswirkungen der digitalen Transformation auf die Berufswege, insbesondere im technischen und naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich, beitragen. 

Der Schwerpunkt der Analysen liegt auf dem MINT-Fachkräftemangel in der Schweiz und den nach wie vor bestehenden Geschlechterunterschieden bei den Berufsausbildungen im ICT-Bereich. 

Die Übersetzung des Projektoutputs in die Praxis (Translation) erfolgt zum einen über die Bereitstellung der Daten für die Forschungsgemeinschaft, zum anderen über die ausserwissenschaftliche Vermittlung der Ergebnisse an Interessierte in der Bildungspolitik, -verwaltung und -praxis.

Zusätzlich erlauben die Ergebnisse des Projekts, datengestützte Interventionen und Instrumente im Hinblick auf schulische Digitalisierungsstrategien zu entwickeln und umzusetzen.

Präsentationen und Workshops in den Schulen sollen den Fokus auf die Gelingensbedingungen im Umgang mit Digitalisierung auf schulischer Ebene legen – und zeigen, wie Digitalisierung und Leistung bzw. Kompetenzen der Schüler*innen zusammenhängen.

Förderung

Universität Bern im Rahmen der Initiative BeLEARN des Kantons Bern.

Laufzeit

2022 - 2024

Reporting

Herzing, Jessica M. E. & Leo Röhlke. (2024). DigiPrim – Status quo der Digitalisierung auf der Primarstufe. Version 1-0. Bern: University of Bern, Interfaculty Centre for Educational Research. DOI: 10.48350/193898.