Digitalization in Swiss schools

DigiPrim

Lehrerin erklärt einer Gruppe von Kindern eine Aufgabe auf einem Tablet-Computer

Aim of the project

In Switzerland, there is hardly any current, empirically reliable data on the state of digitalization in primary schools. The DigiPrim project ("Digitalization in Swiss Schools and its Impact on Educational Trajectories") at the University of Bern is attempting to close this gap.

Digitalization and education

The surveys of school principals, parents and pupils are intended to provide a differentiated picture of the current state of digitalization in primary schools. The data collected will be used to explore the opportunities and risks of learning in the digital classroom and to identify conditions for the successful integration of information and communication technologies (ICT) at the school level.

Complementary analyses of the data from the longitudinal study TREE (Transitions from Education to Employment) will provide information on the effects of ICT use, practice and skills at school and in the private environment on the transition phase to post-compulsory education.

Translation into practice

A central goal of DigiPrim is the translation of project results into practice. In addition to designing presentations and workshops, we therefore always publish the latest results, prepared for different target groups.

The survey at primary school level took place from May to July 2022 as part of the pilot survey of the ÜGK (Verification of the Attainment of Basic Competences). The questionnaire for the survey of school principals was designed in cooperation with the projects Reform@work of the PH Bern and EPFL-LEARN.

More information ... about the survey | about the data | about the results

In the "TREE" part of the project, the effects of digitalization on the educational transition after compulsory education (9th grade) after secondary level 1 will be examined. For this purpose, data from the longitudinal study "TREE" will be used, which map the transition to post-compulsory education in detail.

The findings will contribute to a better understanding of the impact of the digital transformation on career paths, especially in the technical and scientific fields.

The focus of the analyses lies on the STEM skills shortage in Switzerland and the gender differences that still exist in vocational training in the ICT sector.

The translation of the project output into practice is achieved by making the data available to the research community on the one hand, and by communicating the results to interested parties in educational policy, administration and practice outside of academia on the other hand.

In addition, the results of the project allow for the development and implementation of evidence-based interventions and instruments with regard to school digitalization strategies.

Presentations and workshops in the schools will focus on the conditions for success in dealing with digitalization at the school level - and show how digitalization and the performance and competences of the students are connected.

Funding

University of Bern as part of the Canton Bern's BeLEARN initiative.

Duration

2022 - 2024

Reporting

Herzing, Jessica M. E. & Leo Röhlke. (2024). DigiPrim – Status quo der Digitalisierung auf der Primarstufe. Version 1-0. Bern: University of Bern, Interfaculty Centre for Educational Research. DOI: 10.48350/193898.

La numérisation dans les écoles suisses

DigiPrim

Lehrerin erklärt einer Gruppe von Kindern eine Aufgabe auf einem Tablet-Computer

Objectif du projet

En Suisse, il n'existe pratiquement pas de données actuelles et empiriquement fiables sur l'état de la numérisation dans les écoles primaires. Le projet DigiPrim ("La numérisation dans les écoles suisses et ses effets sur les parcours de formation") de l'Université de Berne tente de résoudre cette lacune.

Numérisation et éducation

Les enquêtes menées auprès des directions d'écoles, des parents et des élèves doivent fournir une image différenciée de l'état actuel de la numérisation dans les écoles primaires. Les données collectées doivent permettre de déterminer les chances et les risques de l'apprentissage dans une salle de classe numérique et d'identifier les conditions de succès pour une intégration réussie des technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) au niveau de l'école.

Des analyses complémentaires des données de l'étude longitudinale TREE (Transitions de l’Ecole à l‘Emploi) permettront en outre de déterminer les effets de l'utilisation, de la pratique et des compétences en matière de TIC à l'école et dans l'environnement privé sur la phase de transition vers les parcours de formation post-obligatoire.

Pertinence pratique

L'un des principaux objectifs de DigiPrim est de transposer (translation) les résultats des projets dans la pratique. Pour cette raison, en plus de la conception de présentations et d'ateliers, nous publions toujours les résultats les plus récents, préparés pour différents groupes cibles.

L'enquête dans l'enseignement primaire a eu lieu de mai à juillet 2022 dans le cadre du prétest de l'enquête COFO (vérification de l’atteinte des compétences fondamentales). Le questionnaire pour l'enquête auprès la direction de l’établissement a été conçu en coopération avec les projets Reform@work de la PH Berne et EPFL-LEARN.

Plus d'informations ... sur l'enquête | sur les données | sur les résultats

La partie du projet "TREE" examine les effets de la numérisation sur la phase de transition vers la formation et la profession après le niveau secondaire 1. Pour ce faire, il est prévu d'utiliser les données de l'étude longitudinale "TREE", qui illustrent en détail la transition vers la formation post-obligatoire.

Les conclusions doivent contribuer à une meilleure compréhension des effets de la transformation numérique sur les parcours professionnels, en particulier dans les domaines techniques et scientifiques.

Les analyses se concentrent sur la pénurie de personnel qualifié MINT en Suisse et sur les différences persistantes entre les sexes dans les formations professionnelles dans le domaine des TIC.

La transposition des résultats du projet dans la pratique (translation) s'effectue d'une part par la mise à disposition des données pour la communauté de recherche, d'autre part par la communication extra-scientifique des résultats aux personnes intéressées dans la politique, l'administration et la pratique de l'éducation.

En outre, les résultats du projet permettent de développer et de mettre en œuvre des interventions et des instruments basés sur les données en ce qui concerne les stratégies de numérisation scolaire.

Des présentations et des ateliers dans les écoles mettront l'accent sur les conditions de réussite dans l'utilisation de la numérisation au niveau scolaire - et montreront comment la numérisation et les performances ou les compétences des élèves sont liées.

Financement

Université de Berne dans le cadre de l'initiative BeLEARN du canton de Berne.

Durée

2022 - 2024

Rapports

Herzing, Jessica M. E. & Leo Röhlke. (2024). DigiPrim – Status quo der Digitalisierung auf der Primarstufe. Version 1-0. Bern: University of Bern, Interfaculty Centre for Educational Research. DOI: 10.48350/193898.